You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

NFl Draft 2019: Oklahoma becomes first school to have quarterbacks drafted No. 1 overall in consecutive years

  • Updated
  • 2
  • 1 min to read
Murray and Mayfield

Then-sophomore quarterback Kyler Murray runs the ball after then-senior quarterback Baker Mayfield pitched it to him during the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1, 2018.

When former Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray won the Heisman Trophy in December 2018, the Sooners made history as they became the first team to have quarterbacks win the the award in back-to-back seasons.

They did it again.

With Murray being selected No. 1 overall by the Arizona Cardinals in the 2019 NFL Draft, Oklahoma is now the only school in the 83 year history of the NFL Draft to have quarterbacks be selected first in consecutive years.

Along with this, the Sooners are now the first team to have three quarterbacks selected No. 1 in a single decade, with former Sooner Sam Bradford being taken first in 2010. 

Bradford, Mayfield and Murray are the only three Oklahoma quarterbacks to be selected first overall. The only school with more No. 1 quarterbacks is Stanford with four.

Sports editor

Vic Reynolds is a journalism sophomore and The Daily's sports editor. Previously he served as a sports reporter covering OU's football, softball and wrestling teams.

Load comments