You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

OU football: Spencer Jones wins 2020 Peter Mortell Holder of the Year Award

  • Updated
  • 0
  • 1 min to read
Spencer Jones

Then-redshirt junior wide receiver Spencer Jones walks into the Cotton Bowl before the Red River Showdown Oct. 12.

OU redshirt senior receiver and holder Spencer Jones was named the recipient of the 2020 Peter Mortell Holder of the Year Award Thursday.

The Mortell Award has been presented annually to college football's top place holder since 2015. Jones becomes just the second Oklahoma player to win the award, following Connor McGinnis in 2017.

A Nashville, Tennessee native, Jones transferred to Oklahoma from Liberty University prior to the 2018 season. He served as the holder on all of the Sooners' place kicks in 2020 after McGinnis graduated from OU following the 2019 season. Then, Jones was put on scholarship in December for his efforts.

With all NCAA student-athletes receiving an extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19, Jones told the Oklahoman's Ryan Aber in an interview that he plans to return as the Sooners' holder for the 2021 season.

Sign up for our newsletters

Sports Editor

Mason Young is a journalism sophomore. He's the Daily's sports editor and covers OU football. He was previously assistant sports editor and has worked as a reporter covering OU women's gym, OU wrestling and former Sooners in the NFL.

Load comments