You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

OU football: Kyler Murray wins 2018 Heisman Trophy

  • Updated
  • 1
  • 1 min to read
Heisman House

Kyler Murray is OU's seventh Heisman winner after winning the 2018 Heisman Trophy.

Kyler Murray is the 2018 Heisman Trophy winner.

The redshirt junior quarterback is Oklahoma's seventh Heisman Trophy winner. Murray took over as the Sooners quarterback this season, succeeding Baker Mayfield, and he has followed Mayfield again Saturday night with his Heisman win.

This is the first time two players from the same school have won the Heisman in back-to-back years since Army in the 1940s.

Murray beat fellow finalists Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins.

Murray's  thrown for 4,053 yards and rushed for 892 yards. He has accounted for 51 touchdowns so far this season, and he has a nation-leading 205.7 passing efficiency rating.

Murray will be back in action on Dec. 29 to take on Alabama in the College Football Playoff semifinal Orange Bowl.

Sign up for our newsletters

Load comments