You are the owner of this article.

7 more Oklahoma counties approved for federal disaster aid

  • 0
  • 1 min to read
A Flooding (copy)

Flood waters along the Arkansas River. Photo by Nathan Rott

Gov. Kevin Stitt announced Friday that federal aid would be granted to seven more Oklahoma counties that were impacted by recent severe weather.

Canadian, Creek, Logan, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers and Washington counties have all now been added to the Individual Assistance Major Disaster Declaration, according to a press release from Stitt’s office.

Muskogee, Tulsa and Wagoner counties had already been approved for assistance, according to the release.

Disaster assistance includes providing benefits toward individuals and business owners affected by severe storms that have occurred since May 7, according to the release.

Housing repairs or temporary housing, low-interest loans, disaster unemployment assistance and grants for necessary disaster expenses are included in the assistance benefits, according to the release.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) approved Oklahoma’s request for aid in the seven listed counties, according to the release.

Stitt stressed that the state will continue to request that additional counties be given aid, according to the release. 

To apply for disaster assistance, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or visit the federal website for disaster assistance.

Load comments